Slide background



Namibia have named their squad to face Georgia in the Pool C clash. The starting XV have 398 test caps between them, over one hundred caps more than their next most experienced RWC line-up. The starting XV for Namibia when they were defeated by Wales 81-7 in 2011 boasted 294 test caps.


Namibia Head Coach Phil Davies has made seven changes to his starting team for Wednesday evening’s Pool C Rugby World Cup fixture against Georgia at Sandy Park, Exeter. Four of the changes are up front and three at the back from the starting team that did duty against Tonga last week at the same venue. In the forward pack Davies has brought back Raoul Larson at tighthead while veteran Johnnie Redelinghuys will earn his 49th cap starting at loosehead. In the second row Davies was forced to make a change with Janco Venter ruled out through a bicep injury. Bayonne’s Pieter-Jan van Lill, who started at lock against the All Blacks, will again do duty in the number 4 shirt. At the side of the scrum, Tinus du Plessis, who produced an outstanding performance against New Zealand, also returns to the starting team.

Romanian-based scrumhalf Eugene Jantjies will start his second match of Rugby World Cup 2015 in place of Eneill Buitendag while Darryl de La Harpe replaces Johan Deysel at inside centre and David Philander is recalled at right wing, with Johan Tromp replacing him on the bench.

Davies said his selection was based on a strategy Namibia have been following since the summer when they played against Russia. “Since we started in the summer we always had a 23-man match day strategy. We found this to be the most effective way of combining local and professional players. This is about picking a spine and managing game time during a Tier One competition to ensure that our 15 on the field at any time remain competitive.”

Amongst the bench players are Wian Conradie and Heinrich Smit who will get their first run at the Rugby World Cup.

“Wian and Heinrich are both young players with huge potential and with our legacy program in mind it was our plan from the outset to give all 31 players an opportunity. It’s about the here and the now, to perform well and look for that first win, but we also have an overflow plan building towards the next Rugby World Cup,” Davies said.

The Namibia team to play Georgia on Wednesday at Exeter.

15. Chrysander Botha (Exeter Chiefs)
14. David Philander (Spotswood United, NZ)
13. Danie van Wyk (United, Namibia)
12. Darryl de la Harpe (Western Suburbs, Namibia)
11. Russell van Wyk (Western Suburbs, Namibia)
10. Theuns Kotzè (Union Sportive Bressane, France)
09. Eugene Jantjies (Farul Constanta, Romania)
08. Renaldo Bothma (Pumas, South Africa)
07. Tinus du Plessis (Wanderers, Namibia)
06. Jacques Burger (captain, Saracens, England)
05. Tjiuee Uanive (CA Brive, France)
04. PJ van Lill (Bayonne, France)
03. Raoul Larson (SWD Eagles, South Africa)
02. Torsten van Jaarsveld (Free State Cheetahs, South Africa)
01. Johnnie Redelinghuys (Wanderers, Namibia)
16. Louis van der Westhuizen (Leopards, South Africa)
17. Jaco Engels (United, Namibia)
18. Johannes Coetzee (Free State Cheetahs, South Africa)
19. Wian Conradie (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
20. Rohan Kitshoff (Wanderers, Namibia)
21. Heinrich Smit (Leopards, South Africa)
22. Damian Stevens (University of Western Cape, South Africa)
23. Johan Tromp (Wanderers, Namibia)

Namibia Rugby Players


Russel van Wyk

Position: Wings
Date of Birth: 12.08.1990
Place of Birth: Tsumeb
Weight: 87 kg
Height: 1.56 m
Club: Western Suburbs (NA)
Caps: 4
Debut: 21.06.2015

Read more


NRU on Facebook

Official Sponsors

Windhoek DraughtWindhoek Draught
First National BankFirst National Bank
Air NamibiaAir Namibia
Paratus TelecomParatus Telecoma